Skip to main content

Offshore Wind Lease Buyout Tracker

As of August 2026, the federal government has reached agreements with 6 companies to end 12 offshore wind leases, committing roughly $3.93 billion in reimbursements. The agreements were announced in 5 rounds between March and August 2026, and each one requires or expects the developer to redirect an equivalent sum into oil, gas, or LNG.

Every entry below links to the Interior Department release or company statement it came from. Figures last verified August 31, 2026.

Running totals

$3.93 billion
Committed in reimbursements
12
Leases relinquished
6
Companies
5
Announcement rounds

Every agreement, newest first

RWE

$1.22 billion

· 3 leases
RWE U.S. Offshore; signing entities include Community Offshore Wind

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-A 0539Community Offshore WindNew York Bight — 125,964 acres~3 GW reportednot itemized
California leaseCanopy Offshore WindHumboldt Wind Energy Area, CaliforniaNot separately disclosednot itemized
Louisiana leaseLake CharlesOffshore Louisiana — the only Gulf lease in the ledgerNot separately disclosednot itemized

Money redirected to: A $900 million indirect 16% stake in the Louisiana LNG Project and $300 million reserving natural gas turbines.

The largest single agreement, and it cleared RWE's entire remaining U.S. offshore wind portfolio. RWE had paid roughly $1.26 billion for the three leases. Source: RWE

Duke Energy

$129 million

· 1 lease
Lease held by nonregulated subsidiary Cinergy Corp.

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-A 0546Carolina Long Bay (Wilmington East)~22 miles south of Bald Head Island, North CarolinaUp to 1.6 GW (developer figure)$129 million

Money redirected to: Additional generating capacity, which Duke said may include new nuclear and natural gas.

Duke paid $155 million for this lease in 2022 and is being reimbursed $129 million — a partial recovery, not a full refund. Source: Interior Department

Invenergy

$765 million

· 4 leases
Invenergy Wind Offshore and affiliates; Leading Light Wind with energyRe

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-A 0542Leading Light WindNew York Bight2.4 GW (developer figure)$645 million
OCS-P 0565Even Keel WindMorro Bay Wind Energy Area, CaliforniaNot separately disclosed$112 million
Gulf of Maine leaseGulf of Maine research-scale leaseGulf of MaineNot separately disclosed$4 million
Gulf of Maine leaseGulf of Maine research-scale leaseGulf of MaineNot separately disclosed$4 million

Money redirected to: Natural gas-fired power plants in Indiana, Wisconsin, Iowa, Kansas and Missouri, plus geothermal.

The largest number of leases in a single agreement — four — though two of the Gulf of Maine leases cost single-digit millions apiece. Source: Interior Department

Bluepoint Wind

$765 million

· 1 lease · payment contingent on prior fossil-fuel investment
Ocean Winds (EDPR/ENGIE) and Global Infrastructure Partners (BlackRock)

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-A 0537Bluepoint WindNew York Bight — 71,522 acres, ~38 miles off New York2.4 GW (developer figure)$765 million

Money redirected to: A U.S. LNG facility in Texas, via Global Infrastructure Partners.

Reimbursement equals the original 2022 winning bid exactly, and is paid only after the LNG investment is made. Source: Interior Department

Golden State Wind

$120 million

· 1 lease · payment contingent on prior fossil-fuel investment
Ocean Winds (EDPR/ENGIE) and CPP Investments

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-P 0564Golden State WindMorro Bay Wind Energy Area — 80,418 acres, ~22 miles off California's central coast~2 GW reported$120 million

Money redirected to: U.S. oil and gas assets, energy infrastructure, and/or Gulf Coast LNG — no specific project named.

Announced the same day as Bluepoint Wind; both are Ocean Winds joint ventures. California's attorney general later stressed the payment was not settling any existing lawsuit. Source: Interior Department

TotalEnergies

$928 million

· 2 leases · payment contingent on prior fossil-fuel investment
TotalEnergies Renewables USA

LeaseProjectWatersReported capacityAmount
OCS-A 0538Attentive EnergyNew York Bight (off New York and New Jersey)~3 GW reported$795 million
OCS-A 0545Carolina Long BayOff North Carolina~1–1.3 GW reported$133 million

Money redirected to: Trains 1–4 of the Rio Grande LNG plant in Texas, upstream conventional oil in the Gulf, and shale gas production.

The first agreement of the series, and the template for every deal that followed. Seven states sued in June to challenge the lease cancellations. Source: Interior Department

How these deals actually work

Not necessarily. The figure represents money the government has agreed to reimburse, not money confirmed paid out. Several agreements are expressly contingent: Interior cancels the lease and reimburses the original bid only after the company invests an equal amount in fossil-fuel infrastructure first. Interior's own releases avoid the word "buyback," describing the deals as terminating leases and reimbursing bid payments.

The pattern is consistent across the ledger: a developer relinquishes a lease it won at a federal auction, the government reimburses the bid payment, and the company commits an equivalent sum to oil, gas, or LNG. Two developers took less than they paid — Duke Energy is recovering $129 million on a lease it bought for $155 million, and RWE roughly $1.22 billion on leases that cost about $1.26 billion. The money comes from the Justice Department's Judgment Fund rather than a program Congress appropriated for the purpose, which is part of what the legal challenges are about.

What the leases would have built

Interior's releases do not state generating capacity, so every megawatt figure in this ledger comes from developers or trade press and should be attributed that way. The best-supported individual numbers are RWE's Community Offshore Wind and TotalEnergies' Attentive Energy at roughly 3 GW each, Leading Light Wind and Bluepoint Wind at 2.4 GW each, Golden State Wind at about 2 GW, and Duke's Carolina Long Bay at up to 1.6 GW.

Adding those up is where reporting gets unreliable: sources differ on several leases, and two of Invenergy's Gulf of Maine leases are research-scale rather than commercial. The BlueGreen Alliance puts the cumulative total at 21.15 GW, which is consistent with a bottom-up sum but is an advocacy tracker's figure, not a government one. Treat any single aggregate capacity number as attributed, not established.

Legal and political challenges

Seven states — New York, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Vermont — sued in federal court in June 2026 over the TotalEnergies lease cancellations. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse opened an inquiry in April focused on the use of the Judgment Fund, telling the Associated Press the deals take “billions of dollars out of consumers' pockets.” Elizabeth Klein, who directed BOEM from 2023 to 2025, told Canary Media there are “significant questions about under what authority Interior is doing this.”

Interior Secretary Doug Burgum has defended the agreements, saying Americans “deserve an energy system built on common sense, not one dependent on costly subsidies or technologies that can't meet our country's current demand.”

Frequently asked questions

Which companies gave up offshore wind leases, and how many each?

Twelve leases, held by six companies, across five announcement rounds — the numbers are easy to conflate. TotalEnergies gave up two leases, Invenergy four, RWE three, and Bluepoint Wind, Golden State Wind, and Duke Energy one each. The largest single agreement is RWE's $1.22 billion deal in August 2026, which cleared its entire remaining US offshore wind portfolio.

Is this the same as offshore wind projects being cancelled?

Not quite. These are federal seabed leases being terminated before construction, which is different from a permitted project halted mid-build. The practical effect is the same for the pipeline — the projects will not be built — but the ledger here counts lease agreements, not construction stoppages.

Method: compiled from Interior Department press releases, company statements, and major outlet reporting, then checked deal by deal. Dollar figures are amounts agreed, not confirmed disbursements; the Treasury publishes Judgment Fund payments separately and we have not reconciled against them. Counts distinguish leases (12) from agreements (6) from announcement rounds (5) — figures elsewhere often conflate them. New agreements are added as they are announced.

Free to cite with attribution to CleanPowerDaily and a link to this page. Related: 2026 US clean energy capacity by state · moratoriums by state · Opposition Tracker.